Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 4 – # 31 – Trash or Treasure

on August 21, 2012

I work very near a little deli – Kelsey’s Deli on 63rd Ave E in Bradenton, that also provides specialized meals for private planes, under Blue Parrot Catering.  I have lunch there many times a week and the owners have been adding items to the walls of the deli, many of which you would recognize from years gone by.  One item that caught my eye was this pair of skates, the leather straps  and they even had the key.   I immediately thought of the theme – Trash or Treasure.  Now to today’s youth, these would be considered trash, but I remember these fondly from my youth.  Stepping into these and using the key to tighten them to my sneakers in preparation for going flying down the street.  And the not so fondly – skinned knees.  We didn’t have knee and elbow pads like they do today.
A big Thank you to the owners Ken and Diane Dowse for allowing me to go in after the lunch rush and take a couple of photos of the roller skates.

6 responses to “Week 4 – # 31 – Trash or Treasure

  1. legdallas says:

    Neat idea Sue. I like it. I was a pretty fast skater, but I always had a stopping problem which resulted in some interesting situations….

  2. Oh my gosh, Sue, I think these are my old skates!

  3. peggybatten says:

    I love the picture and the story, it looks great

  4. lbblanchard says:

    Definitely a treasure. I am old enough that I actually wore skates like those. Great photo Sue

  5. billemills says:

    I remember taking the wheels apart and trying to replace the ball bearings – needless to say I lost some and my skates were never as smooth – great shot and unique subject.

  6. Great photo and choice for your theme.

Leave a Reply

