Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 11 – #1 Multiple Layers

on October 14, 2012

In looking at this Chrysanthemum that had the outside petals colored red and the rest as white, I kept seeing the layer upon layers of  petals each looking like separate tubes.  I had originally thought the petal were flat, but as you can see they are not flat at all.

This is closeup photography using extension tubes which I back-lit.  I was at 105 mm, f8 for 8 seconds. 

10 responses to “Week 11 – #1 Multiple Layers

  1. shelby1120 says:

    This could also be the WOW category. Lovely, artistic and a wonderful part of nature. Good eye to look so close into the flower!

  2. Terry says:

    What a great idea for layers. Your photo is spectacular!

  3. tnwaltz says:

    Sue, what a beautifully photographed flower. It has me spellbound!

  4. legdallas says:

    Spectacular photo Sue.

  5. Kim Bolyard says:

    Beautiful!!! It is a piece of ART!!!

  6. billemills says:

    Sue, A fantastic picture, really outstanding clarity,color and interpretation.

  7. Oh my goodness what a gorgeous photo and thank you for posting the photographic details too! – going to get my macro out and dust it off – and I never realised the petals were “tubes” either … and surely I should as the chrysanthemum was my school flower!

  8. juliezed says:

    This is absolutely amazing!

  9. Beautiful is all I can say. Really great exposure and composition.

Leave a Reply

