Week 14 – #17 In a Row

I made a trip out to Antietam Battleground while I was in Maryland.  I have never had a major interest in the civil war.  Being from Connecticut there was  never a lot of talk about it while I was growing up.  It was taught in school, but found WWII more interesting than the civil war. When I lived in Kansas City, MO, there were a number of people who were very into the civil war and it appeared to me that they were still of the same mindset even today. There were always arguments because Missouri was one of those states that had people who were for both sides.

Now that I live in Florida and I am surrounded by people who drive with confederate flags on their trucks, I thought I should take the drive over to Antietam since it was only an hour and a half away.  I unfortunately missed the memorial lighting which happened on December 1.  This year on September 17th, they celebrated the 150 anniversary of the bloodiest single-day battle in American history, with about 23,000 dead, wounded and missing on both sides combined.  It was the first major battle to take place on union territory.  It is still hard for me to imagine that number of young men dying in a battle that took place over 2 days.

Antietam Memorial
Antietam Memorial
2 thoughts on “Week 14 – #17 In a Row

Leave a Reply

