Week 27 – #36 Light

I enjoyed going up to St. Pete with the West Coast Camera Club on Saturday evening with the goal of photographing the full moon rising over the Pier.  Since the pier may or may not be demolished in the up coming months due to decay of the sub structure, with all the times I have gone up to the pier for different photographic events, I had not as yet taken a photo of the pier structure itself.   I did not think I was taking a photo for the blog, but when I started to process it, I found it fit the theme of Light very nicely.
The moon in January was called a wolf moon.  It got that name from the Native Americans because they used to hear the wolves howl outside the villages.  The  the Algonquin name for that moon is squochee kesos or “sun has not strength to thaw”.  Well the Algonquin were not in Florida, with our 75 degrees – no freeze here.
Whatever you call it – it was a full moon and it cast a great glow, which this pair were taking full

Love in the moonlight.
Love in the moonlight.

advantage of the “Light by the Silvery Moon”.

9 thoughts on “Week 27 – #36 Light

  1. Yes, I did tell them. Matter of fact, they were getting up to leave and I asked if they would just sit back down for one more shot, which they did very graciously. This was a first for me, since I seldom take photos of people. They were there with a member of the camera club and it is posted on the meetup site so they can see. I will send it to them if they ask.

Leave a Reply

