Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 52 – #7 Shadows

on July 21, 2013

Shadows-2Wow. This is the last entry in the first 52 week themed photo challenge – 2012 to 2013 Themes.   I tried to think of things to use for Shadows.  I have lots of ideas but most of them require setup or prep time.  I will still work on those as I think they have potential for great photographs.  In the meantime, I saw this little wire cup and with a tea light and the shadow patterns it creates that I loved.  This was taken at f4, iso 100, 3 seconds, manual exposure.  I then pushed the vibrance and saturation to get the yellow to orangish color.

Don’t forget this isn’t the end – a whole new challenge starts on August 1st with the new 2013-2014 Themes.  I will be reaching for new ideas for whatever themes the ladies present to us. So continue to follow  this and come along for the ride. My camera has another trip to the Canon rehab center coming up shortly as it is not working as it should.  I might be a week behind in starting the new challenge.
Thank you for joining me on the 2012 – 2013 photo challenge, I hope I kept you interested and provided you with some interesting photographs.

So now with a short inhale and a very gentle puff and the candle is out on the 2012 – 2013 challenge.

19 responses to “Week 52 – #7 Shadows

  1. Donna says:

    Love the detail in the shadow lines. Mr. Camera wants another spa treatment? Are you overworking him? Hope he’s back to 100% soon.

    • Sue Karski says:

      Ahh yes. It got a taste of the spa visit and now it seems it can’t live without it. It goes more than I do. The connection for the cable release is not working. At first I thought it was the cable release itself, so bought a new one. So now I have two and neither work.

  2. mindytowns says:

    Great photo! Love how you tied it into ending one challenge and beginning a new one. It has been a fun 52 weeks. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with for the NEXT 52!

  3. tnwaltz says:

    Sue, I always look forward to seeing what theme you select for your photos. You always amaze me with your creativity. Thanks for a year of wonderful photography.

    • Sue Karski says:

      MaryNell, Thank you so very much for your kind words. What makes the 52 week challenge work is the different interpretations. A number of photographs from around our country and how the world has changed as we were growing (I won’t say grown-up)has provided each of us new places, things, or ideas that are similar or different from our own experiences. And then there are the artistic or different types of photography than we normally use, which if the settings or the how, provides the viewer with something they might try.
      Thank you again – I am looking forward to this new challenge.

  4. lbblanchard says:

    That’s a WOW photo!

  5. Ron Hecox says:

    Way coooool. Just love it. You did very good.

  6. billemills says:

    Great vision and execution – you have a talent for taking and manipulating a terrific picture

    • Sue Karski says:

      Bill – such flattery, from someone who takes fantastic photos himself, I blush. Thank you for your kind words. I am looking forward to seeing more of your work this coming challenge.

  7. shelby1120 says:

    I know you love your travels and landscapes, etc. But I often like “Still Life” and you made something beautiful right at home. Your photos are wonderful, and the captions you add are always interesting. Wait until you see my shot for “The End”. Coming soon……..

  8. preed913 says:

    another wow photo – so perfect for the theme – love your final sentence – also perfect! – I have to say that I do look forward to your postings!

  9. thegatorgal says:

    Such thought goes into your work. The proof is in the results!

Leave a Reply

