Week 24 – #11 Golden Mean

11 Golden Mean-2I struggled with what to do for the theme Golden Mean.  The more I read, the more I did not want to do the easy – the spiral staircase, or shell.  Yes, that does demonstrate the ratio, but it would not teach me anything.  So I am going to take a stab at putting the effort into learning just how to use this properly in every day photography.   I not going to go into the math involved in getting the right angles, you can find all that on the internet.  What I will do (badly I will say – so forgive me for this) is to draw the golden spiral on top of this photo so you can see how the ratio is used to draw the viewer up to the horse’s eye.
For those of you who use Adobe Lightroom, under Tools, the Crop Guide Overlay, you can select the Golden Spiral as one of the options to help you crop the photo to maximize the use of the Golden Mean.  I had already cropped this photo to this size and then when I found this option, I turned it on.  I flipped the photo and low and behold the horse’s eye fell right in the end of the spiral curl.  Other examples would be to use this to place people in the appropriate position in a landscape scene.  This is slightly different that just using the rule of thirds.
Hope this helps you to see the golden spiral.

11 Golden Mean

 

9 thoughts on “Week 24 – #11 Golden Mean

  1. Aside rom your beautiful photography, the one thing I love from your work is that I learn something. In this photo, the first thing I saw was the horse’s eye turned around looking at you. Little did I know that he/she was positioned in the perfect golden mean ratio. Neither did I know about the Golden Spiral option in Lightroom. Keep up the good work, Sue.

    1. Thank you again for you kind words. When I can, I try to give the how or explain myself as to why.
      The Lightroom was just something I tripped over. I have not found it in photoshop (yet).

  2. Sue, Yet another perspective that we all can learn from. Thanks for sharing, as well as giving me inspiration to tackle the same subject that I have been struggling with. Gary

    1. Ahh, I know the feeling and sometimes waiting to see what some else does gives me inspiration to tackle it myself. Sometimes you just need to jump in lens first (so to speak).
      Go for it, you cannot break it, and it’s how to learn.

  3. Very educational. And I have heard of the use of the Golden Mean in how our brain decides what is attractive about a person’s face. So you took it a step further into the nature of the horse, which is obviously a beautiful part of nature all around us.

  4. Thank you – I must say I love the photograph and it’s a help to me because I didn’t know where to start with this theme. I too didn’t want to do a shell etc., much as they are very beautiful. Still not toooooo sure what I am going to do but will refer to this when I do.

    1. The golden mean is just a title demonstrating how to look at a scene. By following the concept you naturally position objects in your photo in the most pleasing to the eye. I think most of us were intimidated by this theme and once I broke it down to what they were trying to show me, I found I was already seeing it in some of my photographs. By hand drawing it over my photo, it caused me to take more time and understand the sections of my photo and the importance of the different sections. It causes me to be more critical in how to crop photos.
      I am sure you will find something that will fit the bill when you start this theme. This theme does not mean it has to be a spiral. So go for it. I will look forward to what you post.

Leave a Reply

