Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 30 – #37 Rainy Day

on March 11, 2014

Well since some of you saw a post that was supposed to go to my travel blog and Word Press was “nice enough” to post it in the 52 week photo challenge instead, you know I was just “down under” in Sydney, Australia.  For those who did not see it, I am only sort of sorry since it was not meant for here, I have deleted it from this blog.  Be aware that posting from your IPad can have unintended consequences, as I found out.

All that being said, on with this post.  Yes, I just returned from a trip to New Zealand and Australia.  Weather for the most part was wonderful.  We had a couple of days of rain, the afternoon I arrived in Auckland, New Zealand and then it seemed to concentrate on Sydney while I was there.  This was not the same storm that prevented our ship from going to the one place I wanted to go – Fiordland National Park, New Zealand, but just a front that was working its way through Sydney.

Now, what is the one thing you associate with Sydney, Australia?  The Opera House.  I was fortunate to get a hotel room in the Sydney Harbor Marriott that had overlooks of both the Sydney Harbor Bridge and the Opera House.  Not both from the same room, unless you booked the penthouse suite I am sure.

So with the weather being what it was wanting to be, at least we had a view that I could not complain about regardless of the weather.

37 - Rainy Day

This was the view from Circular Quay which is an area with lots of cafes and shops right on the harbor, next to The Rocks, another area with lots of shops.  As you can see we are about to get wet.

37 - Rainy Day-2This is the view from the room.  I did not have to add the water droplets to the window – they were all too real.  Now technically this is not Sydney Harbour itself  but Sydney Cove.

It was really too bad, because the rain limited my ability to see more of the area. I did ride the Hop On Hop Off Bus and toured the city, getting off and walking from Queen Victoria Station and through Hyde Park and the Royal Botanical Garden (all in the rain). I did not get to see Bondi Beach, nor did I make the trip out to the Blue Mountains.

 

9 responses to “Week 30 – #37 Rainy Day

  1. gwong1 says:

    Sue, Even though it rained it looks like you made the most out of your trip. Excellent shots as usual. Hoping you will share more. Gary

    • Sue Karski says:

      As you know, it is a long way to get there. Never sure if you will get back, though I definitely want to, so you make the best of the situation. Rain or shine the shutter can cluck just backgrounds and skies are not what you want. Yes more to come especially as I catch up. Thanks for your comments.

  2. shelby1120 says:

    That dark cloud is so unique above the opera,house! It was well worth you getting your feet wet a few times.

  3. lauramacky says:

    I love the contrast of clouds to the building. Beautiful image.

  4. tnwaltz says:

    Thanks, Sue, for the mini tour of Sydney. Rain or shine, you always seem to capture it all beautifully. I can’t wait to see more. Welcome home!

  5. thegatorgal says:

    Awesome clouds over such an iconic image! See? Every cloud has a silver lining! And you were there to capture it!

Leave a Reply

