Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 51 – #18 I had a Dream

on July 20, 2014

OK, now before I start – I already know that I am warped when it comes to dreams.  But, here goes.  My dream had me back on my grand parents farm in Massachusetts – why – because yesterday, I went with the West Coast Camera Club Meetup group to Tampa Bay Salvage Company – which is an Architectural Salvage company located at 7o0 N Pinellas Ave, Tarpon Springs, FL.  After seeing so many items from my childhood – some restored and others laying in bins waiting  to be found, I dreamed of the farm and things I used to do back when I was a child.  My marbles were kept in a little what would be now called a vintage tin. 140719_IMG_5904_6_7D

Ahh Marbles – and a whole jar of cat’s eyes..what I would have given for that back then….140719_IMG_6035_7_7D

Radio Flyer – though this model was well after my time in a wagon……(no comments needed on that one…)

140719_IMG_6017_9_7D

Oh now, that treadle stand that belonged on sewing machine is now a base for a sink.  And finally –

140719_IMG_6050_5_7D

the old meat grinder.  Oh many hours did I stand swinging that crank arm around our meat grinder – that was clamped onto the kitchen table.

It was such a tme with no fast food places and when you sewed or at least repaired your own clothes, and toys were played with the imagination of the child – no  electricity or electronics involved – a sting and a couple of marbles or a wild west wagon and you played outside until your mom called you in after dark.    ohh such dreams.

So how many of you remember these items?

 

 

12 responses to “Week 51 – #18 I had a Dream

  1. tnwaltz says:

    Of course, since I fit into the “vintage” classification, I remember all of them. Thanks for the memories, Sue.

  2. shelby1120 says:

    The meat grinder attached to the table was used alot in the kitchen when I was growing up.

  3. Ida McBride says:

    Delightful memories.

  4. Mindy Towns says:

    My mom collected antiques… so all of those things could be found in my house when I was growing up! I wish I had mom’s jars of marbles. Some were even made out of clay!

  5. thegatorgal says:

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane with your well-crafted images . . . a much simpler time. Some of us are fortunate that we were able to experience that era, and thrive in the 21st Century with all the technology at our disposal.

  6. George says:

    I always wanted a Radio Flyer, but I guess the folks couldn’t afford one as Santa never brought me one. And I can well remember the meat grinder and cranking out leftovers for breakfast hash. We never did have a treadle sewing machine. Wow! Reminiscenses.

  7. rebecca says:

    Love the trip down memory lane! Thanks for bringing them to light!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  8. Sue Karski says:

    You are welcome. Thank you for your comment.

Leave a Reply

