Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 4 – #20 Impression of Art

on September 1, 2014

20 Impression of Art

Gulfport, FL is a quaint little town.  This past Saturday, they held their Annual Geckofest.  It was a collection of vendors with their art work, crafts, etc that you find at street festivals, and they had stages with bands playing.  I went with Diane early so as to avoid as much of the heat of the day, so we missed the themed dress – which this year was Roaring 20’s.  It would have been nice to see them, but with the threat of rain, and the heat, it was too much.  But I digress.

This horse is on one of the side streets just off the main street in Gulfport.  With all the iron work, I selected this statue of the horse as my entry for Impression of Art.  I will probably go back when it is cooler and submit more on just Gulfport, as there are decorated homes and gardens making this a nice place to visit.

18 responses to “Week 4 – #20 Impression of Art

  1. tnwaltz says:

    When I visit Gulfport, I always leave feeling happy. Nice, quaint little town whose residents know how to throw a party!

  2. Sue Karski says:

    You are right. Diane found a t-shirt on one of the servers at O’Maddy’s that said – “We don’t have a town drunk – we take turns”. Nice fun little town.

  3. shelby1120 says:

    You used the background to add interest to the horse, while I tried to show only trees behind it. iI like yours better.

  4. elifamily2 says:

    Nice photo, and I like the colored background too. Sounds like a fun place to visit.

  5. Terry says:

    Interesting sculpture.

  6. Sue Karski says:

    Yes it is Terry, and this is in an artist corner on the main drag of the town, where a micro burst struck a year or so ago that damaged some of the shops there. I was surprised the horse survived.

  7. Gulfport is on my list to visit. I would like to see the art walk they have once a month. Was this the event you attended? Love the photo!

  8. gwong1 says:

    Sue, Always at the right place a the right time. Gary

  9. George says:

    I never knew there was so much to see in Gulfport. Cooler temps come, I’ll have to devote a day over there.

    • Sue Karski says:

      It is right on the water, with a view of Don Cesar in the distance, so you have harbor views, and then the artist side of Gulfport itself. And all the places to eat/drink. There have been some car shows there as well. So yes you should go, but you could do it in pieces since it is so close so do a little and enjoy the food. Can you tell I am retired yet? I now look at things a lot slower. lol

  10. I like the point of view you have chosen. The town sounds an interesting place to visit and so many events to photograph too! great take on the theme.

Leave a Reply

