Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 8 – # 44 – Someone Working

on September 27, 2014

44 - Someone Working  (2 of 4)

44 - Someone Working  (4 of 4) 44 - Someone Working  (3 of 4) 44 - Someone Working  (1 of 4)

These guys were getting ready for the 11:00 Train Ride which would include a robbery by the Hole in the Head gang (with a nod to the Hole in the Wall Gang – that included Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. )  The train is being protected by the US Marshals, and surely the gang would not be full hardy enough to try to rob the train with them on board.  Ha.  Gunfire will be loud.  Be prepared (taking photographs while rifles going off makes me jump).

If you have not been to one of the acting troops at the Parrish Train Museum, you should.  It is located at  Florida Railroad Museum, 12210 83rd St. E.  It is not a long train  ride – only 6 miles, but with all the action they make it fun.

There is a pumpkin festival ride  (All Aboard for the annual Pumpkin Patch Express! This popular trip takes you to our patch of pumpkins. Children are invited to pick their own pumpkin to take home. Everyone is also invited to participate in the hay ride, Lincoln log building, crafts and other activities offered at no additional charge!)

and

the North Pole Express

December is quickly approaching, bringing the North Pole Express along with it. This extraordinary train excursion will be departing from the Parrish station for three weeks this December. Carolers onboard the train will be entertaining you on your journey to and from your destination. Please request your favorite holiday song and sing along on this very special night. Santa will be expecting you at the North Pole when you arrive, so be sure to visit him while you are there. Also enjoy all of the other wonderful activities that are included in the ticket price. You will be able to make Reindeer Food that you can take home
with you. Enjoy the toy activity tent and the model railroad display. Listen to a great tale in the storytelling area. Pick up some hot chocolate and cookies, and enjoy them around a cozy bonfire while you gaze at the multitude of lighted displays. Christmas comes to life at the Florida Railroad Museum. We hope that you will join us on a magical train ride to see Santa at the North Pole .

 

and there is also avon Kessinger’s Express  in November. (June, 1944. France. Allied troops are quickly approaching General von Kessinger’s camp. If your papers are in order, you will be permitted to escape with the General onboard his train racing across the French country side as French Resistance, U.S. and British give chase. Will the General evade Allied capture? Be sure your papers are in order before finding out – the Germans will be checking for spies!)

Learn a little about trains in Florida’s history and have a fun event.  Its just up the road from us.

 

34 responses to “Week 8 – # 44 – Someone Working

  1. tnwaltz says:

    This is really cool!

  2. shelby1120 says:

    I love these outlaws! And they look good in black & white too. And the trip to the NorthnPole for kids is always great. I am usually serving hot chocolate,and cookies at that one.

  3. elifamily2 says:

    Great photos! Looks like a fun day. Great information too. 😊

  4. Great photos, looks like fun, Maybe a photo club trip???

  5. George says:

    I need to do von Kessingers when it comes. Great background on the RR museum.

  6. preed913 says:

    Great photos. It does sound fun.

  7. I’d love to do those trips

  8. gwong1 says:

    Sue, Nice shots, they do a great job at the Florida Train Museum, we went with our grandkids for Thomas the Train, very inexpensive and a fun day for the family. I did not know about this event, and will have to check it our. Gary

    • Sue Karski says:

      Thank you – I did not do the ride, as I had done it before. I want to go back and do the WWII one in November. They do make it fun. Even if the ride is only 6 miles. Just keeping those engines running is one big job.

  9. thegatorgal says:

    Nice photographic essay. And I love the new look of your blog!

    • Sue Karski says:

      Thank you. And Thank you – I like the bright colors and easy flow, which is why I changed. The dark green I had before offset the lighter photographs but this seems more inviting.

  10. hydragirl818 says:

    What a great place to take photos. In the first photo, it almost looked like the guy was wax. 🙂

  11. great photos of a fun day. we went one day and it turned out to be the day of the chili fest, we had a blast. we have to get back.

  12. This really looks like fun! What an interesting job to have, too!

    • Sue Karski says:

      I am sure they have fun doing it as it is volunteer. They are always looking for new volunteers if you are interested.

      • Thanks for the info, Sue, but I read all these things with awe and envy as I live on the other side of the world! We have nothing like that in South Africa!

      • Sue Karski says:

        ahh I am so sorry. I think I knew that you were not in Florida let alone not in the USA, but I completely didn’t think about it this morning when I responded. While you may not have something like this, that there are many beautiful things in your country and I look forward to seeing your posts.

      • No matter, Sue, it is so great for me to read all about these things. I am learning a lot here!

  13. rebecca says:

    I love the first pic.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  14. Love all the photos and thank you for all the information. I will definitely check it out with my nieces and my girls!

  15. I love the photos. What a great fun experience. Sorry I have got behind with responding to your blogs. I always find them interesting.

Leave a Reply

