Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 11 – #7 Car Lights

on October 11, 2014

Here’s Winkin’ At You.
bif burger car show 10 2014-3

Headlight from an old Volkswagon Beetle.  I love the “eye lid”.

 

bif burger car show 10 2014-2

It appears the old cars had a pension for having head lamps made with a protective hood.

These photos were taken at Bif Burger’s Friday Night Car Show in St Pete.bif burger car show 10 2014-4

27 responses to “Week 11 – #7 Car Lights

  1. preed913 says:

    before I read your comment I thought it looked like an eyelid! such fun cars the beetles!

    • Sue Karski says:

      I did not realize the old ones had that lid. I knew the newer ones did and of course in Florida we have that exterminator service that has the mouse tail and eye lashes on a couple of beetles that are driven around in our area. I was never comfortable in the old ones – my knees hit the dash.

  2. tnwaltz says:

    I had a beetle but I am not sure whether or not it had the lids. Mine was a 1967. Interesting rims on the last car, whatever it is.

    • Sue Karski says:

      These cars did not have labels on them and I am not so well versed on models so unless the owner was talking or the car had something on it to tell me, I could not tell you what year or make. The last car was a Ford, but again, I do not know what year. I included it because both had “lids”.

  3. gwong1 says:

    When the bug was a bug. Nice shots. Gary

    • Sue Karski says:

      Thank you. I had to take photos of the stick shift as well. The inside was dice themed. I am not sure what the boards are on top – seem way to short to be surf boards.

  4. George says:

    Now I’ve been beaten to my second idea for headlights. Boy, you gotta get up early in this challenge to get your ideas up first. 😀 B-D

    • Sue Karski says:

      George – Please do it anyway. I want to see your photos. We can’t stop pursuing our ideas because someone else took a photo similar. Everyone sees it from a different perspective. I would like to see more examples of different things. Like someone took a photo of car tail lights moving – is actually a good thing for everyone to at least try.

  5. elifamily2 says:

    Great shots! I don’t remember seeing the lid on the lights either. Love the green wheels on the old Ford.

  6. Sue Karski says:

    Thank you. It was like WOW green. If you missed the car – you would not miss the wheels.

  7. Ron Hecox says:

    Nice shots. I love old cars and the uniqueness of them.

  8. punch buggy blue, no punch backs! oh my goodness this brings back such fun memories. I didn’t have an old beetle, everyone and their brother did so I rode in tons of them. But when the new convertibles first came out I ran out and got an orange one. I had no idea what I was in store for. I was not on the road more than 5 minutes when a couple in a shiney new Mercedes SUV pulled up next to me and put down their window to tell me that my car was the cutest little thing they had ever seen. This was just typical, almost everyday someone came up to me to tell me about the VW they had, kids would yell “Punch Buggy” at me. People would tell me they saw me all over the place. You’d think there wasn’t another orange convertible beetle on the road.

    • Sue Karski says:

      How sweet. I did not own one and I only rode in one – but it was not a convertible nor a beetle but more like a van but it was a car, I think it was a squareback. Really not a cute car. Glad you enjoyed yours.

  9. shelby1120 says:

    Sue and I love both of these pix.

  10. Julie Z says:

    Antique cars are a part of my business. I love them. I love the front ends because you can see faces, mostly happy! 🙂

  11. hydragirl818 says:

    I always felt like the VW headlights with the lids looked like eyes. Very interesting.

  12. thegatorgal says:

    It really does have a human-eye quality! You are getting sleepy …

  13. Great cars. I like the idea of the lights being eyes. I must look out for cars with “eyes”. Lovely reflections in the cars too.

Leave a Reply

