Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 21 – #8 Differences

on December 19, 2014

Back in the first year of these challenges, I had posted this photo of the side of a building in St Pete.  This is how the wall looked – they had not touched it up.  It had just been uncovered as they tore down another building that was built touching this building.  This wonderful painting was hidden for years.  Right below what I have included were piles of bricks from the salvage. You can see some missing bricks in the lower left corner.

Change of TimeAnd now I have gone back and they have repainted this wall.  This is what it looks like now.  Unfortunately I could not take it from the same angle as there is now a wall blocking off the new parking lot and plants next to the wall.

Personally, I think they should have just sealed the bricks and not repainted it.  The red bricks are now painted white.  The Coffee shop is still there, but the old phone box is gone.  It has lost the historical value in my mind. 13 - Differences

 

29 responses to “Week 21 – #8 Differences

  1. gwong1 says:

    Sue, Nice shot and story. As it most often happens in Florida we do not know how to preserve historical value. The wall looks nice if you did not know what it looked like prior to the repair and repainting. Gary

    • Sue Karski says:

      Gary, Thanks. I was so surprised when I saw the colors in the original. I rushed up there when Chuck Vosburgh, a professional photographer that teaches at Morean Art Center, said they had just demolished the wall and uncovered it. At that time, no one was sure what they would do and we wanted to capture it as it was at that moment in time.

  2. Great photos, at least it is preserved — photographically

  3. judymarina says:

    Yes, too bad they repainted, but at least they did not tear down the building, and you have preserved what the wall originally looked like. That photo may be well sought after at some point! Nice job photo-journaling this Sue 🙂

  4. Bex says:

    Sue, I love the old wall and I definitely agree, they should have preserved it the way it was!

  5. tnwaltz says:

    I wish we would have known they were going to re-paint it. We could’ve formed a protest … hey, why not? People protest over all kind of things today. Like the others who responded, I loved the old painting and wish it had been kept. I’m glad you took the photo of the old wall.

    • Sue Karski says:

      I had no idea they had repainted it, until I drove by it. I am sure they would have some reason – like the missing bricks to validate their reasoning for redoing it.

  6. Ida McBride says:

    I agree that the original should have been preserved. What a pity it wasn’t.

    • Sue Karski says:

      At least we can feel that some of history is stored in that the painting, even if it was redone, is still on the building. They could have felt it was out of place and removed it completely.

  7. I agree with you; some things are better left to age.

  8. hydragirl818 says:

    I’m with you Sue, I think they should have just sealed the bricks and let it age, naturally.

  9. elifamily2 says:

    If the building had been on a list of historical places I don’t think the changes would have been allowed, just preserved. So sad. From your first photo the signs looked still so colorful and in a fairly good state. Our society is so geared to making everything look so perfect instead of preserving.

  10. Terry says:

    I remember your first photo and I also like the original because it is “original”.

  11. Ron Hecox says:

    I remember when you did that shot. It is good to revisit some things. And some things ought to be left alone.

  12. Diane shelby says:

    Of course the original is better and more meaningful. But at least they did not sit paint the wall a solid color which would have lost all the historical meaning. We need a good photographer on the architectural committee of that community now!

    • Sue Karski says:

      Not sure that a photographer on the committee would help. It is just a couple of blocks from the Morean Art Center and it was called to my attention by a professional photographer that works right there. At least they are keeping the historical ad. There are a few of them around St Pete, so I suspect they feel that repainting to bring it back is sufficient.

  13. George says:

    Sadly people think they are serving preservation when they repaint but instead they are destroying history. At least you have the photographic history Sue.

  14. thegatorgal says:

    Totally agree with you. All the wonderful character is gone. I love finding these brick building billboards in my travels.

  15. I like the original too. Glad you managed to record it. Made me think about what and how to repair,repaint things in our lives.

  16. Sometime things are best let as they were! I also like the older version glad you have a picture of it.

  17. Both interesting photographs.

Leave a Reply

