Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 25 – #46 Still Life

on January 18, 2015

46 Still Life

For the theme Still Life, I selected to photograph a gorgeous Florida sunset from St. Petersburg beach in Treasure Island, using the sea kayaks, surf boards, and umbrella stand in the foreground.  I used Topaz Impression filter – Van Gogh I to turn it into a painterly effect.

37 responses to “Week 25 – #46 Still Life

  1. preed913 says:

    Beautiful – just very pleasing to look at!

  2. Very beautiful – well done!

  3. tnwaltz says:

    Great use of the Topaz Impression filter. I am enjoying playing around with it.

  4. djmacdblog says:

    Very nice, I feel relaxed just looking at this photo!

  5. elifamily2 says:

    I really like this, it is so peaceful, and it is so colorful.

  6. judymarina says:

    Beautifully captured…I can never get enough of the many spectacular sunrises and sunsets our beaches offer!

  7. jewelacer4 says:

    Sue I love those butter flies. You do such a nice job of framing. Whose software do you use? You are quite the artist.

    • Sue Karski says:

      Jewel you will be surprised. To do the framing for these, I just use Faststone. It is a free software, that you can make a donation and the creator keeps making new features and updates.
      Thank you for your comments.

  8. hydragirl818 says:

    This could easily be a post card. Very nice.

  9. Nicely done! I still have to learn how to do this!

  10. George says:

    The colors are awesome Sue.

  11. Great photo! Love the colors of the boats & the lighting on them.

  12. Mindy Towns says:

    I really really love that Sue. I have also been playing a lot recently with the Topaz software.

    • Sue Karski says:

      Thank you Mindy. I have had it but since judges are so so with it, I have not used it except for special stuff. It is a lot of fun and if you haven’t yet- try Glow.

  13. thegatorgal says:

    I just love this. Would make a great canvas wrap.

  14. Everything about this is lovely. Something for us beginners to aspire to!

  15. This is a real hit – lovely photograph.

  16. karenelee says:

    More than “Like” it…I LOVE it!

  17. I love the colours. So true to Van Gogh. Great result with editing and framing. I do not think our judges would like the editing in the general competitions! They will come round!!

Leave a Reply

