Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 26 – #51 When the Wind Blows

on January 23, 2015

We have a lot of activities that happen when the wind blows.  I wanted to share two of my favorites.

The wind was blowing today – and I stopped at the Skyway Fishing Pier State Park to watch the kite surfers.  Here is a set of one of this young man’s jumps today using the wind.  This is what happens when you just hold down the shutter button – you end up with over 18 photos of the jump.  I left out a few.  This was one of the lower jumps – some where well over 20 feet in the air. Putting these together is a lot of work and if you follow along with your lens to keep the activity in the center of your image – then putting these together becomes even more difficult and the sky changes color as the activity moves.  So this is not the best way to accomplish this. So I am learning.  But I thought I would show my first attempt.

52 - When the wind blows - (3 of 1)The weekend of January 17th,  hosted the 18th Annual TREASURE ISLAND SPORT KITE CHAMPIONSHIP as part of the annual Treasure Island Kite Festival.  51 When the wind blows

People come for this festival from up and down the east coast.  There were a number of kites flying and the competition ran for 2 days.  I took a couple of images of this one kite and made a triptych of it.
Though I didn’t see it, there is supposed to be kites that fly with lights after dark.  I had hoped to photograph that, but we had made a dinner reservation on the beach and it was time to go and when we came back out afterwards there were no kites flying – dang.

Just to show that there were kites flying I am including the following image, which was taken just before the competition started.

51 When the wind blows -2

34 responses to “Week 26 – #51 When the Wind Blows

  1. shelby1120 says:

    When the wind blows…you did a fantastic job with the jump sequence! Something for others to aspire to! Wow is all I can say for all of the images you made in this new post!

    • Sue Karski says:

      You are too kind. I have always wanted to try a sequence shot and this was the first one that I had at least some of the right pieces. But I learned you can’t follow the subject – just let it progress through the frame – else the background exposure and lighting changes even just a little.

  2. preed913 says:

    wow! – first attempt – very cool! I bet the person would love to have this photo!

  3. tnwaltz says:

    I have often thought about trying sequence photography but after reading the time and effort you put into it, I think I will continue to keep it on the back burner. You did an excellent job for your first attempt, but you ALWAYS do a great job!

  4. elifamily2 says:

    Really nice job for a first attempt, I am impressed! Did you use a tripod? We go to Sanibel in March and see them out all the time it would be fun to practice. I have so much to learn. 😊

  5. thegatorgal says:

    Great stuff, Sue! You always go the extra extra extra mile!

  6. ronowens says:

    This is a great shot and makes you more than ever my idol!!!

  7. gwong1 says:

    Sue, You BLEW it out of the water. Gary

  8. nicolatilt says:

    Love it – certainly something to aspire to. I may try something a bit less ambitious for my first attempt at this!

  9. George says:

    Wow. I am in awe. I can’t imagine stitching those images all together.

  10. hydragirl818 says:

    It sounds difficult (and I’m sure it is), but you make it look easy. You did a great job. I almost went out to the Skyway to take photos of the kite surfers this weekend. Of course, my shots would not have looked like yours. Kudos!

  11. Terry says:

    What interesting and beautiful photos. You are in the advanced class!

  12. Brilliant. What spectacular result. Sounds like a lot of editing too. There are many skills in the other shots too. i like the triptych and framing. I love kites! Not many round here that I know of. I will have to see if there are any spots for kite flying. Another thing to add to the wish list. Hurrah!

    • Sue Karski says:

      Thank you. If I had not moved the camera to follow the surfer for each shot and only as he was starting to move out of the frame, then I could have reduced the work. This is not a natural thought process in photography of moving items, but one that f you want to do this process is necessary. So back to the drawing board so to speak so I can do this better next time.
      Thank you on the triptych – they are fun.

  13. Holy crap, if this is what your learning curve looks like I’m can’t imagine what you’re shot is going to look like when you perfect it.

    • Sue Karski says:

      Christine, you made me laugh. Thank you for your kind words. I posted this in order for people to see that everyone is still learning. We all have a lot to learn. We all make mistakes and we all can learn from them. I always try to post only my best images even for a blog, but I thought this time it was important to show that I am still learning and attempting new things as well as other 52 photo challenge bloggers

  14. donnagf1 says:

    Great pics — you are an inspiration to those of us still aspiring —

Leave a Reply

