Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 30 – #12 Fences and or Rails

on February 19, 2015

12 Fences and or Rails (1 of 3)

 

Feet Up –

12 Fences and or Rails (2 of 3)

 

Hands Up – or Film it12 Fences and or Rails (3 of 3)

I selected the rails from the Montu ride at Busch Gardens Tampa for this theme.  These huge rails hold the thrill seekers as they catapult around a track that sends them into loops, dives and curves.  No longer do you just sit in a seat with a simple lap bar. Current day coasters take many forms starting with the traditional seating but with shoulder harnesses and  some that suspend the riders so their feet are free and others suspend the riders in a horizontal position (aka Superman position).  The feeling of weightlessness is one I used to enjoy.  I look upon these rides and miss those days, but these rides only give me headaches now so –  the Thrill is Gone.
Notice the guy in the back seat in the last photo has his little camera and he is filming the ride.

20 responses to “Week 30 – #12 Fences and or Rails

  1. preed913 says:

    nice “twist” on the rails theme … that ride’s not for me though!

  2. gwong1 says:

    Nice shots and great capture of the videographer. Great interpretation of the theme. Gary

  3. George says:

    The old Coney Island Cyclone is my limit. I’m too old for these new rides. To quote Gary: “Great interpretation of the theme”.

  4. Great pics, I was NEVER a roller coaster guy. Oh, I allowed myself to be dragged along on occasion, but I am happy my roller coaster days are gone!

  5. elifamily2 says:

    Great shots for the theme. See the young man in the middle holding on for dear life and trying not to get sick? That would be me. 😳

    • Sue Karski says:

      I love watching people at the park. I was standing with my tripod taking the photos – with the people “face up” and seeing the non-coaster friends and family only taking photos which would have gotten them feet up. This was the first time, I didn’t have people trying to put their camera, iphone or ipad in front of my lens. I actually felt compelled to tell some to come stand by me so they could get their friends/family’s faces and not just their feet. I did get to talk to a number of people from other countries as see them as they were enjoying the park/rides.

  6. hydragirl818 says:

    When I saw the first shot I thought those were feet, thankfully the second shot confirmed it. Nice shots and interpretation.

  7. Love these photos, they remind me how much fun a roller coaster is and make me wish my old bones could still tolerate all that motion. That’s a great photo when you wish you were in it.

  8. thegatorgal says:

    Really good stuff, Sue!

  9. I never liked those ride and your pictures are so great that they reminded me why I don’t do them!

Leave a Reply

