Week 33 – #15 Graveyard

15 GraveyardThere is a small town just south of Gainesville, FL called Micanopy (mick-ah-No-pee  – which I have been mispronouncing Mi-can-o-pee) , was  named for the Seminole Chief Micanopy (1780-1849).  This sleepy little town has huge oak trees dripping with Spanish moss shading the old homes and streets.  The streets are narrow and some are dirt, but the glorious azaleas blooms in front of a number of the homes providing the splash of color to liven it up.

Old records show that Hernando DeSoto found an early Timucua Indian village in in 1539 and Pennsylvania botanist William Bartram visited a Cuscowilla village here in 1774.  The town was founded after Spain relinquished Florida to the territories in 1821, it is the oldest inland town in Florida, having been included in the land grant by the King of Spain in 1817.  It started originally as an Indian trading post.  There is a lot of history here regarding how the town was destroyed and rebuilt and its involvement in the Seminole Wars.  It was also home to the descendants of black runaway slaves. and not wanting to do a history lesson, so I will stop there.
I drove through the cemetery which was filled with azaleas (huge plants) that unfortunately had lots of the blooms damaged by the freeze we had recently along with newer blooms that were nearing the end of their time as well.  (Have to remember to trek up there in late Feb – or before a freeze is coming to see this all in bloom.)

I hope my capture leaves you with the impression of the grandness of the oaks and the splash of color from the azaleas in the midst of the old tombstones.

27 thoughts on “Week 33 – #15 Graveyard

  1. Sue, you continue to amaze me with the simple subjects you photograph and turn into really stunning photos. I have never heard of this little town but sounds like one I’d like to visit some day.

    1. Thank you for your kind words Mary Nell. I went to check out a botanical garden up that way and figured I would stop on my way back. Now the botanical should be seen between June and sept, but this town though photographing old buildings work most of the year, I think the azaleas in Feb makes it so inviting.

    1. Thank you, Christine. That shrub is more like a bush. I had not seen azaleas that large before. I used to grow them myself, but they don’t get that big in California and we had little ones in Connecticut.

      1. R

        OMG, absolutely breathtaking! It draws you in and keeps you creating many scenarios while you are feasting your eyes. I love it!!!

  2. judymarina

    I Love the beautiful element of life surrounding a place that depicts just the opposite. Beautiful shot and gorgeous soft editing!

Leave a Reply

