Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 36 – #A3 Doors and / or Windows

on April 1, 2015

A3 DoorsContinuing with my visit to the University of Tampa, I am submitting this image of the doors leading to the main hall of the Henry Plant’s Tampa Bay Hotel.  I felt the arches show the Moorish and / or Turkish style as the architecture is described.  I have also included a couple of photos of the minarets.  Designed in the style of a Moorish palace, the enormous, irregularly shaped red brick building features turrets, domes, and minarets.

20 responses to “Week 36 – #A3 Doors and / or Windows

  1. tnwaltz says:

    I love this, Sue. I have had Tampa on my bucket list and your photo encourages me to get up there sooner rather than later. Beautiful architecture.

  2. gwong1 says:

    You do have the eye for this challenge, continued excellence. Gary

  3. Great photo Sue, gotta get up there too!

  4. George says:

    I hate to think how many times I have driven by UT while I was working in Tampa. Just never stopped to capture the beauty. Great image Sue.

    • Sue Karski says:

      Thank you. Well George, now is the time. I look back and think similar about when I lived in KC and California. Water under the bridge, can’t have regrets just add to list and go visit.

  5. hydragirl818 says:

    When I see doors like this I also think of Turkish or Moroccan. Great shot!

    • Sue Karski says:

      Thank you. I was surprised when I saw the building and then these doors. All I could equate them to was doors at Disney, since I have never been to Turkey. The hard part was trying to get the right angle not to distort them.

  6. Love all the continual shapes and lines. Great composition!

  7. Terry says:

    The colors and contrasts are great.

  8. What beautiful shapes and colours. Great capture!

Leave a Reply

