Week 52 1/2 – #52 Winter Landscapes

I am having a little fun with this since I did the 52 weeks – but it is not yet time to start the new and I can’t use any image taken before Aug 1st for next set of themes.  I really thought this is something that is just a hour drive away and many of us do not know it exists, so I wanted to post this to help make you aware of something we have not that far away.

I am selecting (tongue in cheek – because they bloom during the summer) the caladium aptly named Florida Blizzard.  So to keep with the theme which said landscape – it is about the middle of the image – one of the lighter bands in the fields of color.
52 - Winter Landscapes-2

52 - Winter Landscapes-1I drove to Lake Placid this morning hoping the rain would hold off as this weekend was the Caladium Festival there.  It started on Friday and runs through today, with car show, air boat show, swamp buggies, arts and crafts, food (lots of food), music, and of course Caladiums.  You might remember if you have been following my blog, I went there in about April and posted images of some of the murals.  Since I missed the car, buggy and air boats (they were yesterday) I thought I might be able to make it between the showers scheduled for today.  Well I was able to drive over there and walk to some of the booths before the sky opened up and I had to dash back to my car. I didn’t get to buy any and  I only got a few images, but I did get out to the fields where they plant the caladiums in  row after row of color.

 


25 thoughts on “Week 52 1/2 – #52 Winter Landscapes

      1. If you google them, there is a chart that says which variety can handle how much sunlight. I or get the Florida university that was involved in the cross breeding but their chart is out on the web. Some still require shade.

  1. When I saw your photo come up, I knew immediately where you’ve been! we went last year and it was Sooo hot! Perhaps the rain made it not so bad for you. The fields are really interesting – I never realized that colors varied so much. Very pretty photo!

    1. You can go earlier in the year for the murals, but the caladium festival is about the third or fourth weekend in July. Cute little town with lots of character, just a nice day trip.

  2. Rebecca

    What a beautiful picture. It appears that the sun is only the caladiums and all else is shaded! Love the colors, they could pass for flowers. Thanks for sharing!

    1. The fields are there now and on the main streets, under the trees are a variety of caladiums. You also have the murals to find, so you missed the festival, and it will be there next year, you can go anytime.

Leave a Reply

