Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 6 – #43 Single Tree

on September 5, 2015

What is the worth of a single tree?43 Single Tree-2
When I saw this on the list, I had a number of trees in mind all of which would have produced a comfortable feeling image.  But then I went to DeSoto National Memorial in Bradenton, FL.   I was presented with the question “What is the worth of a single tree?”   It is not that someone asked me that question, but it was what came to mind when I became a witness to the large tree as you enter the park heading towards the visitor center.  Here stands a Gumbo Limbo tree that is somewhere between 80 to 100 years old and is in crisis.   This tree is majestic.  It is being attacked by a fungus called Ganoderma which is essentially rotting the tree from the inside out.  The disease is blocking the nutrients from the soil to reaching the tree.  The National Park Service has been doing treatments and is trying save the tree for as long as it can, but the disease is incurable and it will die eventually, which will be a great loss to the park and to each of us. The park has had to put up ropes to keep people from climbing on its limbs and pulling at the leaves.  Even with the signs stating the tree is in crisis, people continue to treat the tree with little respect.  The tree is on the National Registry of Big Trees as the largest in the United States.

This type of  tree has had many uses from tea, incense, pirates used for marking where loot was buried, sap used to catch birds and treat gout.  The wood is soft and easy to carve and has been used for carousel horses.  It is quick growing and can be started by seed or in the Caribbean it has been started by sticking branches into the soil to create living fences.  It is wind tolerant and can withstand hurricane winds as well as being salt tolerant.  It just cannot take the cold, so the Manatee River is as far north as it can go. It has been called the tourist tree because the bark turns red in the sun and peels back – looking like sunburned skin. Here is a tree that has endured countless storms, and numerous people and yet continues to provide shade, oxygen, nesting material for birds and is magnificent to look upon.  The branches long with not all covered in leaves any longer and now in need of support.   Just look at the twisting and reaching branches of this wondrous tree.

 

43 Single Tree-3

A little about DeSoto National Memorial.  The park commemorates the 1539 landing of Hernando DeSoto with 600 soldiers, 220 horses, pigs, war dogs, cannons, muskets and other supplies on nine ships.  This landing marks the beginning of his 4000 mile expedition on behalf of King Charles V through the southern United States in which they traveled from one village to the next taking the food and enslaving the native people as they searched for gold.  A large number of lives were lost because of this expedition.  The park has a visitor center and a replica of a Spanish camp, as well as a nature trail.  The park has a number of activities during the year, including kayak tours (they provide everything you need) from about May to November.  In April, they reenact DeSoto’s landing – Check the park website for the exact date.

Check out this park and the Gumbo Limbo tree before a storm or the disease takes it from us.

43 Single Tree-1

So I ask you – what is the worth of a single tree?

37 responses to “Week 6 – #43 Single Tree

  1. judymarina says:

    She is definitely a beauty Sue! What a tragedy It is that it is being attacked incurrably. Thank you for sharing her story and photo. I will be looking for her upon my next visit to DeSoto.

  2. cbsmith321 says:

    Very interesting. I love old trees..how sad. I look forward to seeing this old beauty!

  3. Thanks Sue, well said and well presented. I knew the tree as soon as I opened my notification. It certainly is a beautiful creation to be cherished for as long as we have with it!

  4. George says:

    All the times I’ve been there, I never paid attention to that tree. So sad that a beautiful tree like that now has a limit on its life.

  5. shelby1120 says:

    I noticed that tree 16 years ago on my first visit to our own DeSoto Memorial park. It is a beauty and your story gave me so much more information about it. It has surely withstood big winds where it is located, and I always stopped at a nearby bench when I took Pete there to check out those low-hanging limbs.

  6. It is a marvelous tree and you’ve managed to get photographs that do it justice. It’s not so easy to get a shot that shows it off so well. Your story reminds me of the circle of life for everything, not just humans and animals, building collapse and even that magnificent tree will go too.

  7. elifamily2 says:

    Such a magnificent beauty. You did it justice Sue with your photos and great narrative. I haven’t been to the park but, I just moved it to the top of my places to see list.

  8. piriot says:

    It is sad that such a beautiful tree is dying. We have a huge rhodrodendrum that is dying, it might be one of the very first bushes imported from Asia to Europe in the 17th century. Trees in average might have longer life than people, much longer for some. It would be wonderful to listen to trees whom they have seen and what they have been witnessing – end of life is always sad.

  9. suesanborn says:

    Since I love single trees, this story is a wonderful tribute to a fabulous tree. Not many Gumbo Limbo trees in this area and none so large. I can’t imagine the number of people who have had the opportunity to view this one. Let’s hope there are others, like yourself, who love and appreciate this tree as you do.

  10. What a beautiful tree and what a sad, sad story of its final days here on earth. Thank you for sharing the enlightening history of this rather amazing tree.

  11. gwong1 says:

    Thanks Sue, I did not realize it was a Gumbo Limbo. Seen plenty in the Everglades, but never made the correlation. It is a shame it is dying, I never knew much about the tree itself, thanks for sharing. Gary.

  12. tnwaltz says:

    I have never been to the Park, which is a shame considering I live nearby. I’ll definitely seek it out and while there take a look at this grand old lady.

  13. Rebecca says:

    I absolutely love trees and whenever I see such an inspiring one as this, it always make me feel closer to our creator. The worth of this tree (to me) is how it inspires our soul. Thank you for the sad but beautiful story you brought to light!

  14. Morag Reid says:

    What an absolutely magnificent tree. I love old trees and they are so hard to find. I hope they are able to keep this one going for a little while longer.

  15. You do your homework…excellent story and photo.

  16. That is very sad, But I’m glad you got a photo of it before its gone!

  17. annsero says:

    Tree has lots of history. If only they could talk. P

  18. What a wonderful tree. Thanks for its history.Good to have got a picture of it while it is still so beautiful. Great shot.

Leave a Reply

