Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 12 – #A5 SOTC – Straight out of the Camera

on October 16, 2015

A5 - SOTC-1

From the St Pete Art Walk – Chalk Festival – Here is a piece in progress.

A5 - SOTC-2

So both of these were taken with my new Sony A7R II – with a 24 – 240 lens.  This is a very nice setup and gives me a lot of range and it weighs sooooooo much less than my Canon 7D.   Normally even with the 70 – 200 lens on the canon, I would need a tripod.  I hand held these images. Sweet.

ISO 80
Exposure program – Aperture Priority
F8
1/80 second   with exposure comp of -1
focal length 44mm

the first image  was at 33mm  at F8 for 1/125 second  -1 exposure comp

These were both taken in the sun, bright sun, they were not in shade, but the Sony has a feature called zebra and it shows you were the exposure is too hot (before you take the image) so you can use the exposure comp or change other settings to correct the issue.  I am just learning to use it, but it sure seems to help already. There is sooo much detail in the image, which makes cropping not an issue.

I made no post processing adjustments to these other than to crop and of course to resize it down – because these are 46 mp images.

I am so liking this camera.  OK, I have to be honest –  loving this camera.

 

One final word.  Posting will happen when I can.  My house is due to close shortly and the close on the new house the next day.  Then the fun of moving begins.  I will try to do the posts (if I have some images), if for no other reason than to do something other than pack/move. But I will catch-up as soon as I can after I finish moving.

26 responses to “Week 12 – #A5 SOTC – Straight out of the Camera

  1. R says:

    OMG, you are definitely going to have a party with your new camera on our river cruise.
    These are such interesting photos. Nice!

  2. shelby1120 says:

    I love your photos, and I love how the artist depicted the new missing pier structure. And I also thought “paradeolia” might have been your choice.

  3. Ron Hecox says:

    Nice photos and good info on the camera.

  4. tnwaltz says:

    I read and re-read your post but walked away uncertain as to whether or not you like your new camera. 🙂

  5. marjie327 says:

    These artists are amazing, aren’t they?

  6. piriot says:

    So, wonderful to look forward to seeing pictures of your new home!

  7. elifamily2 says:

    Nice images and glad you are enjoying your new camera. Good luck with your move!

  8. preed913 says:

    I dont know when you got the camera but you seem to understand it pretty quickly! – Sounds amazing (I had to look it up!) – and yes those artists are remarkable! – oh to have talent like that.
    Looks like all your photos can be SOTC from now on with a camera like that! good luck with the move. (the reason I do love moving it for the clear out!)

  9. gwong1 says:

    The chalk artists are so good. Nice shots, good luck on the move. Gary

  10. Hmmmm….will have to check out that camera….like I need another! Nice shots!

  11. Congratulations on your new home. Enjoy it. And great shot. I have to get to that Festival one year.

  12. Good luck with you move and congratulation on your new place! I will have to check out the St. Pete I have never been to it. I go to the one in Venice/Sarasota. I love Chalk festivals, Was there a big crowd?

Leave a Reply

