Week 29 – #1 A Part of Me

1 Part of Me-2

Growing up with a father who had taught young soldiers how to maintain a vehicle and drove ambulances in WWII, means that his daughters will learn how to change and rotate all 4 tires (don’t forget that spare), among other things.  Though I never knew why, he had a thing for American Motors other than my parents both drove AMC cars and when it was time  to get cars, AMC it was.  We both got Javelins.  My sister got an earlier model in the Big Bad Green Color that I thought was horrible.  It was a yellowish lime color.

Mine was a hunter green (similar to the color above)  1969 2 door, 4 seater, 3 speed, 6 cylinder, stick shift, AM radio (only), no A/C, no power windows – heck no power anything back then. No one ever  told me how badly green oxidizes.  And believe it or not – we did not even have an ash tray in the dash (not that I smoked – I didn’t).  We had an Ash Receiver – No Kidding –

1 Part of Me-1

This car was a big part of my life growing up (when gas was only 29 cents a gallon).  I am not including a photo of the car – only part of the car(since the theme is part of me and not all of me lol)  because they did not have any 69 Javelins at the show.  I owned it for about 10 years and it served me well.

 

AMC was late to the game with the pony car.  Even one of their commercials used to say, when you are competing against the big 3 car companies – what do you do?  The car was only manufactured from 1968 – 1974 and only 233,000 were made –  in Kenosha, WI.  There were a few different models – from the basic javelin to the sporty 2 seater AMX edition.  When the Javelin was introduced, the average age for the driver of the Javelin was 29 which was 10 years younger than the other AMC cars.  (remember my parents drove AMC cars).

The catch phrase for the Javelin –  Hey Javelin – Do you want to Drag?

  • the reply – No, I have a gold fish bowl on the seat.

Here is one of the commercials – do you recognize the actor?  great character actor, Herb Edelman  and  that’s Don Stroud (“Angel Unchained”) on the bike.  There is another commercial with Richard Dreyfus (as a young man) being the pitch man for the car on the internet.   Oh the memories.  I had some good times in that car.

18 thoughts on “Week 29 – #1 A Part of Me

    1. LOL – not exactly a mustang or camaro. No FM and no A/C but when you are 16 – and you have a car – wahoo. And it was a stick shift which made me very popular because automatics were becoming the big thing and most of my friends could not drive a stick. The Hot version was the AMX which was a 2 seater and a bigger engine.

  1. hardly anyone can drive a stick now, when I got my Beetle convertible I got a stick so none of the kids would take it out. A little after that I heard of a car jacking in New York, the guy got into the BMW and couldn’t drive it so he had to flee on foot!

    1. I agree that it is important. I bought my son a manual transmission so he would learn it. My insurance said manual transmissions are stolen less. My son has thanked me because he can drive with a stick.

  2. Enjoy reading this so much! – the ash receiver – what a hoot – sounds like the pc way to say it! – I think in Britain green is considered unlucky for racing cars. Also – sure probably still the case – if you pass your test on an automatic – you are not allowed to drive a shift – but if you pass on a shift then you can drive the automatic. Most people learn shift over there.

    1. Ahh with pinkie raised = now you can allow the ashes to enter the receiver. lol
      Great to hear that they are not allowed to drive a shift. Here, that is not the case, but so many can’t drive it here. Which is the reason I bought a manual for my son, as it removed many people from being able to drive his vehicle while he was in high school. Less chance of it being stolen.

      1. Sounds like you and Christine think along the same lines!! – our two boys when they came over here WANTED shift – they were more difficult to come by. “Stinky” as the car is fondly known as, is still going … 14 years on and not new when he bought it!

  3. Very interesting story, Sue. I enjoyed the back and forth between you and Patricia. My son also had a stick (as did I), but it never stopped anybody from breaking into his car to steal the contents, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

