Photography Challenge with Sue Karski

A Weekly Photo Themed Blog

Week 4 – # 39 Orton Effect

on August 22, 2016

23 - Orton Effect-1

I went to the Florida Botanical Garden in Largo to get this setting for trying this effect.  I had never heard of it, but I am always looking to learn new techniques.  Not necessarily new to the photographic community, but new to me.  This one has specific instructions for doing with a film camera, which I do not own any longer, but I did find the instructions for doing this in photoshop.  So here goes.

I can say it is not high on my list for something I would do, but there might be a use in the future.

 

24 responses to “Week 4 – # 39 Orton Effect

  1. nicolatilt says:

    I’d never come across it before either but have also found instructions. I’ve tried it on a few pictures but haven’t quite got the effect I wanted. I think yours works really well it gives the picture the dreamy quality they describe with this technique.

  2. I agree that it’s not an effect I’d use everyday but always nice to have something different in one’s bag of tricks.

  3. cbsmith321 says:

    well done! very soothing.

  4. gwong1 says:

    Struggling with this one as well. Gary

  5. Well done Sue, I too am struggling a bit with this one. I wonder what they were thinking when this list was put together?

  6. Nicely done, I am looking forward to working on this one. Always fun to try something new. 😊

  7. I haven’t been brave enough to try it yet. Good job!

  8. preed913 says:

    I think this is beautiful. It does seem to lend itself to garden themes very well.

    • Sue Karski says:

      Thanks Patricia. That was what I thought when I read about it. Though I am not a fan. I take pride in my photos are sharp, so this is difficult for me to sit with.

  9. I would love to sit and just enjoy that beautiful view!

  10. R says:

    Sue, what is Orton? Is it supposed to have a fuzzy affect? The picture is beautiful and very tranquil, but I kept on wanting to clear my eyes.

    • Sue Karski says:

      Becky, I agree which is why I don’t care for it. Here is the explanation.
      The Orton Effect was created by abstract landscape photographer Michael Orton, and it was originally a technique used in film photography. With film, a photographer would take two images and layer them on top of each other – one that was in focus, and one that was overexposed and out of focus. When layered, the two pieces of film produced a single photograph that was simultaneously sharp and blurry. This technique added a soft glow effect to a photo.

  11. R says:

    Wow, thanks for the info. Very interesting. I can see how this may have been very useful back in the day! Thanks again!!🤓

  12. suesanborn says:

    Thanks for letting me know about this term. I had no idea.

  13. Great choice of subject for the theme. Nice subtle effect. I am not over keen on the effect either but it has its uses. One for the toolbox.

Leave a Reply

